June 10, 2015
The HELIX catalog is being updated and will be unavailable for most of the day on Friday, June 12. As an alternative, to find materials in the Norris Medical Library, please feel free to use Quick Search on the USC Libraries website: http://www.usc.edu/libraries/
Thanks for your patience!
March 11, 2015
Do you ever feel like searching PubMed is a mystifying ordeal? That perhaps you’re not seeing every citation you think you should? If your PubMed experience is leaving you frustrated, it is time to show that database who is in charge (hint: it is you). This workshop will be held in the Norris Medical Library’s 2nd Floor Computer Classroom on Thursday, March 19, 2015 from 11:00 a.m. – Noon. Learn more about:
- Searching PubMed with added efficiency
- Strategies for keeping current
- Using MyNCBI to organize searches/results
- New features
Don’t forget to bring your own questions, concerns, or complaints! Our librarians will help you take charge of PubMed!
Please register for the workshop, as space is limited.
January 5, 2015
AIDSinfo, a collaboration of the US Department of Health and Human Services and the US National Library of Medicine, has announced the release of a new app for iOS and Android devices. Using data from the AIDSinfo Drug Database, the drug app provides information on more than 100 HIV-related approved and investigational drugs. The information, in English and Spanish, is tailored to meet the needs of both health care providers and consumers. Users can personalize the free AIDSinfo Drug App to suit their needs:
- Receive notifications when content is updated.
- Bookmark frequently referenced drugs for easy access at any time.
- Add personal notes to any drug.
- Select from a menu of alarms to set pill reminders for any drug.
See AIDSinfo Releases Drug App for iOS and Android Devices for further information.*
*Blog article excerpted from the National Library of Medicine.
November 18, 2014
Do you know what these questions have in common?
- Why do some patients take all their medications, and some don’t?
- Is vibration therapy or neuromuscular electrical stimulation more effective for muscle pain?
- If an American returns from a visit to Eritrea with a respiratory infection, do they need to be quarantined?
Read the rest of this entry »
October 15, 2014
This month the Medical Library Association is honoring the expert assistance that medical librarians provide to faculty, students, health care providers and the general public. How do your Norris medical librarians help you? Let me count the ways:
- Provide resources for teaching and learning
- Develop curricula and provide instruction
- Act as expert consultants on searching the knowledge-based literature
- Provide information support for research proposal development
- Find and integrate the best evidence for clinical decision-making
- Improve patient care and outcomes by locating studies that result in changes in patient care
- Support innovation, research and quality improvement in affiliated hospitals by assisting with integration of evidence-based resources into electronic medical record systems
- Manage electronic resources, selecting the best databases and negotiating licensing agreements
Stop by the Norris reference desk October 1-3 for a treat to celebrate and start the month sweetly.
October 15, 2014
ClinicalKey, the large collection of medical resources, upgraded its platform upgrade September 23rd.
Among the new enhancements are:
- A cleaner, mobile-friendly design for discovering clinical content on the go
- 1,400+ new Topic Pages that offer quick access to point-of-care content, including risk factors, treatments and more
- A new browse feature with a searchable, filterable list of sources that highlights new books and journals
- A new search history feature enabling you to view and refresh recent queries
Users should register and log into ClinicalKey to take advantage of the database’s personalization features. A detailed user guide is available for further information.
July 7, 2014
Norris Medical Library subscribes to both Lexicomp Online, the drug reference database and UpToDate, the evidence-based clinical decision support resource. Now, users can quickly and easily access the content from within both solutions. Linking between pharmacology content in Lexicomp to related disease-state content in UpToDate enables clinicians to instantly connect to the relevant point-of-care information they need to inform their decisions and enhance patient care.
Advantages of bidirectional access from Lexicomp to UpToDate include:
- Efficiency – Clinicians can easily access UpToDate from Lexicomp, or Lexicomp from UpToDate, without having to exit their workflow or open a new browser window; thus, they find the answers they need in less time.
- Greater depth – The combined Lexicomp and UpToDate resources provide an extensive knowledge base for clinicians seeking information to support diagnosis and treatment plans.
- Consistency – Lexicomp and UpToDate content is not just linked – its content is concordant and provides consistency and standardized care between physicians, pharmacists, and nurses.